Let's Make a Difference

APRIL 4, 2023


Gautam Bhatia

Alderperson for Aurora's

8th WARD


Hi, I'm Gautam

Neighbor, Community Leader and Active Parent!

I have been a resident of Aurora since 2008 with my wife of 22 years.  My 16 year-old son attends Waubonsie Valley HS & my 11 year-old daughter attends McCarty Elementary.  I have a BA in Computer Science from Augustana College and MBA in MIS & Operations from the University of Minnesota.  I have been working in Information Technology for the past 30+ years.  I have invested in Aurora as a small business owner.  My community involvement is listed further below.

It gives me great pleasure to volunteer in our community to make the world a more connected, diverse & safe place.  Over the past decade, I have built strong relations with state and local government officials, community leaders & business owners.  This experience has led me to where I am today – Alderperson Candidate for Aurora’s 8th Ward.

Why I'm Running
One of the primary responsibilities of any City Council is to have “checks & balances on the administration”.  That is NOT happening here!  In fact Aurora City Council has been giving millions in incentives to developers who then donate tens of thousands of dollars to Mayor Irvin’s campaign.  Send me an email at AuroraWard8@ElectGB.com.  I will respond with all the details about contracts and donations.  Here are some other examples of fiscal irresponsibility:
  • Aurora just voted to increase our property tax levy!
  • Aurora issued $42 million in bonds for projects.
  • Donated land (worth $10 million) + and issued $58 million in bonds for the casino totalling $68 million in incentives to move the casino.
  • The City of Aurora approved $50+ million for a new warehouse for cars and trucks.
  • Approved almost $500K for free WIFI in Riveredge Park. How often is Riveredge park used? Why is free WIFI needed in a concert venue when we have cell phones?
  • A total of $150 million of spending that the taxpayers will get stuck repaying.
  • Alderperson Smith voted YES on all of this wasteful spending!
A company that has received millions in contracts from the City of Aurora held a fundraiser for my opponent Alderperson Smith, who voted YES to give them city contracts.  This is pure “Pay to Pay” politics and must stop!
What Aurora's 8th Ward needs?
  • An Alderperson who will be Accountable to residents and NOT be a RUBBER-STAMPER for the administration!
  • Someone who will stand up to the administration and prevent the use of TIFs and incentives to multi-billion corporations.
  • Be Transparent and get regular input from residents & not hold ONLY ONE community meeting just before election season.
  • A professional with Business acumen, Leadership and community awareness. 
  • An Alderperson who will NOT accept donations from companies doing business with the City of Aurora.  I pledge so!
I ask for your vote on April 4th for a better future for Aurora!

Please reach out with any questions with an email to AuroraWard8@ElectGB.com

Demonstrated Leadership & Transparency

Values Fiscal Accountability & Sustainability

Served on Aurora Boards & Commissions

IT Professional & Small Business Owner

Dedicated to Aurora Community since 2010

Endorsements from Community Leaders

Active Member of the
Aurora Community

Community Involvement

Aurora’s Planning & Zoning Commission

Indian American Community Outreach Advisory Board

Interfaith Aurora

Aurora Business United

Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley

Get In Touch

Fill the form below or email at us AuroraWard8@ElectGB.com


Paid for by Citizens for Gautam Bhatia

© 2022 All Rights Reserved


IL State Senator
Laura Ellman
Karina Villa
IL State Rep
Janet Yang Rohr
Stephanie Kifowit
DuPage County Board members
Deb Conroy (Chair)
Dawn Desart
Greg Schwarze
Liz Chaplin
Lucy Chang Evans
Lynn LaPlante
Mary Ozog
Michael Childress
Paula Deacon Garcia
Democratic Party of DuPage County
Ken Mejia-Beal (Chair)
Forest Preserve District of Dupage County
Dan Hebreard (President)
Barb O’Meara (Commissioner)
Naperville Township
Eddie Bedford (Supervisor)
Julie Federico (Trustee)
Loretta Burke (Trustee)
Janet Simmons (Precinct Committee Person of the Year)